The Historical Galleries
The Historical Galleries
The Historical Galleries

The Historical Galleries

Models showing the history of the city of Neuchâtel

As the centrepiece of a superb exhibition area that contrasts old and new, seven fascinating historical models show how the city of Neuchâtel developed between the years 1000 and 2000. Visitors can learn about the mechanisms that prompted the city's growth from its origins around a castle until it reached its present area, which extends from Serrières to Hauterive.

The models offer a highly attractive way of exploring Neuchâtel's urban development. For example, they demonstrate the importance of the fortifications during the Middle Ages, and the impact of the huge construction sites that remodelled the city, such as the 19th-century land reclamation work on the lake.

The models were built by Jean-Fred Boekholt in the late 1990s; they needed about 10,000 hours of work including 3,500 hours for scientific research.

The models are accompanied by a small exhibition that documents the social and cultural history of the city and its residents.  

A treasure hunt on film

"The secret of the seven models" is a film that vividly portrays these ten centuries of urban history. It revolves around two protagonists who discover the city and its history against the backdrop of a treasure hunt. The film's novelty lies in the transitions from one world to another – from that of the models themselves to the contemporary city: a whirlwind journey across the centuries.

The Historical Galleries are located in the northern courtyard of the Hôtel DuPeyrou, one of Neuchâtel's most beautiful buildings.

Information

Opening times: Wednesdays and Sundays from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm, or by appointment (except on public holidays).

Admission: free except during Museum Tuesdays and temporary exhibitions (CHF 4.00)

gallery views

Galeries de l'histoire
Galeries de l'histoire
Galeries de l'histoire

Galeries de l'histoire

Les maquettes historiques de la ville de Neuchâtel

Au cœur d'un magnifique espace confrontant le neuf et l'ancien, sept fascinantes maquettes historiques montrent le développement de la ville de Neuchâtel entre l'an 1000 et 2000. Le visiteur découvre ainsi les mécanismes de l'accroissement de la cité, née autour d'un château, jusqu'à son extension actuelle de Serrières à Hauterive.

Les maquettes résument sous une forme des plus attractives l'histoire urbanistique de Neuchâtel. Elles rendent compte par exemple de l'importance des fortifications au Moyen Age ou des grands chantiers qui ont remodelé la ville à l'instar des travaux de comblement du lac au 19e siècle.

Exécutées par Jean-Fred Boekholt à la fin des années 1990, les maquettes ont nécessité quelque 10'000 heures de travail, dont 3'500 pour les recherches scientifiques.

Une petite exposition complète la présentation des maquettes et documente l’histoire de la ville et de ses habitants sous ses aspects sociaux et culturels.  

Une chasse au trésor filmée

Un film « le secret des sept maquettes » raconte de manière vivante ces dix siècles d’histoire urbaine. Il met en scène deux acteurs qui découvrent la cité et son histoire, dans le cadre d’une chasse au trésor. L’originalité du film réside dans le passage d’un monde à l’autre – l’univers des maquettes et la ville contemporaine – dans une folle course à travers les siècles.

Les Galeries de l’histoire sont situées dans la cour nord de l’Hôtel DuPeyrou, un des plus beaux bâtiments de la ville de Neuchâtel.

Informations

Ouverture: mercredi et dimanche de 14h à 16h ou sur rendez-vous (sauf les jours fériés).

Prix d’entrée: entrée gratuite, sauf durant les Mardis du musée et les expositions temporaires (CHF. 4.–)

Vues de l'espace