Movements. New permanent exhibition

Movements. New permanent exhibition

At the heart of life, movement shapes the trajectories of individuals, objects and ideas. Because of its geographical position and its history, Neuchâtel has naturally developed strong relationships with foreign countries. Migratory movements and the circulation of goods and techniques have been driving forces in its development. They have also contributed to the construction and definition of its identities.

On the occasion of its new permanent exhibition, the Museum of Art and History questions its collections and puts them into dialogue through the prism of movement, a notion that is both individual and universal.

The exhibition offers a new and interdisciplinary perspective on mobility. What are the profiles and motivations of migrants?  What role do wars and international trade play in movement? What is the nature of the goods produced and the strategies implemented to export them? What are the links between trade networks and the slave trade? What do artists seek under distant skies? What obstacles do migrants encounter in their daily lives? A journey through small and large stories where memory and the richness of destinies are reflected.

ROOM VIEWS

The exhibition Movements includes a section on the participation of Neuchâtel residents in the colonial enterprise and in slavery. It includes filmed interviews with four university professors: Thomas David (University of Lausanne), Bouda Etemad (Universities of Geneva and Lausanne), Matthieu Gillabert (University of Fribourg), Kristina Schulz (University of Neuchâtel)

 

Prof. Kristina Schulz, University of Neuchâtel

the involvement of Swiss people in the slave trade and their participation in the colonial enterprise: subjects that have long been concealed

 

Honorary Professor Bouda Etemad, Universities of Geneva and Lausanne

the involvement of Neuchâtel citizens in the slave trade and slavery

 

Prof. Thomas David, University of Lausanne

the role played by the Neuchâtel Typographical Society and the slave revolt in the abolition of the slave trade and slavery

 

Prof. Matthieu Gillabert, University of Fribourg

racism after the abolition of slavery

Bewegungen. Neue Dauerausstellung

Bewegungen. Neue Dauerausstellung

Bewegungen zeichnen die Bahnen von Individuen, Objekten und Ideen nach. Neuenburg hat aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage und seiner Geschichte naturgemäss starke Beziehungen zum Ausland geknüpft. Die Migrationsbewegungen und die Zirkulation von Waren und Techniken waren für seine Entwicklung treibende Elemente und wirkten auch am Aufbau und an der Definition seiner Identität mit.

Anlässlich seiner neuen Dauerausstellung lässt das Museum für Kunst und Geschichte seine Sammlungen aus der Perspektive der Bewegung – ein zugleich individueller und universeller Begriff – in einen Dialog treten.

Der Rundgang beleuchtet die Mobilität auf eine neuartige und interdisziplinäre Weise. Welches sind die Profile und die Beweggründe von Migrantinnen und Migranten ? Welche Rolle spielen Kriege und der internationale Handel dabei ? Welcher Art sind die hergestellten Güter und welche Strategien werden angewandt, um sie zu exportieren ?  Welche Verbindungen gibt es zwischen Handelsnetzen und Sklavenhandel ? Was suchen Künstlerinnen und Künstler in der Ferne ? Auf welche Hindernisse stossen Migrantinnen und Migranten im Alltag ? Ein Rundgang durch grosse und kleine Geschichten, in denen sich Erinnerung und die unterschiedlichsten Schicksale widerspiegeln.

BLICK IN DIE AUSSTELLUNG

Die Ausstellung Bewegungen enthält einen Abschnitt über die Beteiligung der Neuenburger am Kolonialunternehmen und an der Sklaverei. Sie enthält gefilmte Interviews mit vier Universitätsprofessoren: Thomas David (Universität Lausanne), Bouda Etemad (Universitäten Genf und Lausanne), Matthieu Gillabert (Universität Fribourg), Kristina Schulz (Universität Neuenburg)

 

Prof. Kristina Schulz, Universität Neuchâtel

die Verwicklung von Schweizern in den Sklavenhandel und ihre Beteiligung am kolonialen Unternehmen: lange Zeit verschwiegene Themen

 

Honorarprofessor Bouda Etemad, Universitäten Genf und Lausanne

die Verwicklung von Neuenburgern in den Sklavenhandel und die Sklaverei

 

Prof. Thomas David, Universität Lausanne

die Rolle, die die Neuenburger Buchdruckergesellschaft und der Sklavenaufstand bei der Abschaffung des Sklavenhandels und der Sklaverei spielten

 

Prof. Matthieu Gillabert, Universität Freiburg

Rassismus nach der Abschaffung der Sklaverei