Movements. New permanent exhibition

Movements. New permanent exhibition

At the heart of life, movement shapes the trajectories of individuals, objects and ideas. Because of its geographical position and its history, Neuchâtel has naturally developed strong relationships with foreign countries. Migratory movements and the circulation of goods and techniques have been driving forces in its development. They have also contributed to the construction and definition of its identities.

On the occasion of its new permanent exhibition, the Museum of Art and History questions its collections and puts them into dialogue through the prism of movement, a notion that is both individual and universal.

The exhibition offers a new and interdisciplinary perspective on mobility. What are the profiles and motivations of migrants?  What role do wars and international trade play in movement? What is the nature of the goods produced and the strategies implemented to export them? What are the links between trade networks and the slave trade? What do artists seek under distant skies? What obstacles do migrants encounter in their daily lives? A journey through small and large stories where memory and the richness of destinies are reflected.

ROOM VIEWS

The exhibition Movements includes a section on the participation of Neuchâtel residents in the colonial enterprise and in slavery. It includes filmed interviews with four university professors: Thomas David (University of Lausanne), Bouda Etemad (Universities of Geneva and Lausanne), Matthieu Gillabert (University of Fribourg), Kristina Schulz (University of Neuchâtel)

 

Prof. Kristina Schulz, University of Neuchâtel

the involvement of Swiss people in the slave trade and their participation in the colonial enterprise: subjects that have long been concealed

 

Honorary Professor Bouda Etemad, Universities of Geneva and Lausanne

the involvement of Neuchâtel citizens in the slave trade and slavery

 

Prof. Thomas David, University of Lausanne

the role played by the Neuchâtel Typographical Society and the slave revolt in the abolition of the slave trade and slavery

 

Prof. Matthieu Gillabert, University of Fribourg

racism after the abolition of slavery

Mouvements. Nouvelle exposition permanente

Mouvements. Nouvelle exposition permanente

Au cœur de la vie, le mouvement dessine les trajectoires des individus, des objets et des idées. De par sa position géographique et son histoire, Neuchâtel a noué naturellement de fortes relations avec l’étranger. Les mouvements migratoires, la circulation de marchandises et de techniques ont été des éléments moteurs de son développement. Ils ont aussi participé à la construction et à la définition de ses identités.

Mouvements. Nouvelle exposition permanente
Prochains événements

À l’occasion de sa nouvelle exposition permanente, le Musée d’art et d’histoire interroge ses collections et les fait dialoguer à travers le prisme du mouvement, une notion à la fois individuelle et universelle.

Le parcours propose un éclairage inédit et interdisciplinaire sur la mobilité. Quels sont les profils et les motivations des personnes migrantes ?  Quels rôles jouent les guerres et le négoce international dans les déplacements ? Quelle est la nature des biens produits et les stratégies mises en œuvre pour les exporter ? Quels sont les liens entre les réseaux commerciaux et la traite négrière ? Que cherchent les artistes sous des ciels lointains ? Quels obstacles rencontrent les migrant.e.s dans leur quotidien? Un parcours au fil des petites et grandes histoires où se reflètent mémoire et richesse des destinées.

VUES DE SALLE

L'exposition Mouvements abrite une section questionnant la participation de Neuchâtelois à l’entreprise coloniale et à l’esclavage. Elle contient notamment des interviews filmées de quatre professeur.e.s universitaires : Thomas David (Université de Lausanne), Bouda Etemad (Universités de Genève et de Lausanne), Matthieu Gillabert (Université de Fribourg), Kristina Schulz (Université de Neuchâtel)

Prof. Kristina Schulz, Université de Neuchâtel

l'implication de Suisses dans la traite négrière et leur participation à l'entreprise coloniale : des sujets longuement occultés

Prof. honoraire Bouda Etemad, Universités de Genève et Lausanne

l'implication de Neuchâtelois dans la traite négrière et l'esclavage

Prof. Thomas David, Université de Lausanne

le rôle joué par la Société typographique de Neuchâtel et par la révolte des esclaves dans l'abolition de la traite et de l'esclavage

Prof. Matthieu Gillabert, Université de Fribourg

le racisme après l'abolition de l'esclavage

Mouvements. Nouvelle exposition permanente
Prochains événements